Grant McLennan Fellowship Finalists Announced

Arts Queensland, APRA AMCOS and QMusic are pleased to announce the finalists of the 2014 Grant McLennan Fellowship.

Congratulations to Danny Harley (The Kite String Tangle), Jackie Marshall, Thomas Calder (The Trouble With Templeton), Jackson Muir and Valdis Voldze (Mosman Alder).

The $25,000 fellowship offers the recipient an opportunity to travel to New York, London or Berlin for up to 6 months and has been designed to expose the recipient to the full cultural life of one of these cities as a source of inspiration and creativity.

Grant McLennan is acknowledged as one of Australia’s greatest songwriters and one of Queensland’s first successful cultural exports. As a founding member of the Brisbane band, The Go-Betweens, Grant created an outstanding musical legacy which has paved the way for many great artists and for the burgeoning Creative Industries sector in Queensland. His lyrics captured a unique Queensland spirit and the band was fundamental in bringing Australian music to a global audience. Grant passed away at the age of 48 in May 2006.

Danny Harley performs under the moniker, The Kite String Tangle.  The Kite String Tangle has been nominated for a 2014 ARIA in the category of Breakthrough Artist.  Danny is currently in New York showcasing at CMJ Music Marathon. 

Jackie Marshall’s extensive career includes an Australian Music Prize shortlisted debut album, being hand-picked by Missy Higgins to support her on her sold-out Queensland tour leg, performing as part of the iconic concert series Women in Voice, and being featured on SBS’s Rockwiz dueting with Australian music legend, Colin Hay.

Thomas Calder is the creator and singer/songwriter of The Trouble with Templeton (TTWT), who formed in 2011.  The last 12 months have been huge for Thomas with TTWT winning a 2013 Queensland Music Award and Thomas winning an APRA PDA Songwriting Award and placing third in the International Songwriting Competition. 

Jackson Muir and Valdis Voldze are two members of Brisbane six-piece, Mosman Alder. Since the band's formation in 2010 they have shared the stage with acts such as Kimbra, Father John, Machine Translations, Hungry Kids of Hungary, as well as playing Splendour Festival and BIGSOUND.

The 2014 judging panel (pictured) are: Sean Sennett, Sally McLennan, Ian Haug, and Adele Pickvance.

The winner will be announced at a special event, Bands of Your Town, on 27 November at the Triffid

Published: 23 Oct 2014 by QMusic Newsdesk