Queensland Music Awards Honours the State's Finest

The Queensland music industry and fans were out in force on Tuesday evening as the State’s finest artists were honoured at the annual Queensland Music Awards.

Held at Brisbane’s Old Museum, the night belonged to new kids on the block Cub Scouts who picked up two awards including Song of the Year and the Pop Award for their song - Do You Hear.

Brisbane’s most loved troubadour Ben Salter– collected the Album of The Year Award for his debut solo effort The Cat whilst Jeremy Neale picked up the Rock Award for Winter Was The Time.

Meanwhile, Kate Miller-Heidke once again picked up the Courier-Mail Most Popular Female Award –voted for by the public – Pete Murray collected the Courier-Mail Most Popular Male Award and The Grates were voted Most Popular Group.

Rising country music star Harmony James took out the country award, while Marialy Pacheco, who recently took out the prestigious solo pianist award at the Montreux Jazz Festival, received the Jazz Award.

International buzz band DZ Deathrays picked up the Export Achievement Award and the legendary Ed Kuepper was recognized for his contribution to the industry, honoured with the Grant McLennan Lifetime Achievement Award.

QMusic Executive Officer Denise Foley – whose organisation is behind the event – said the Awards gave much-needed recognition to Queensland’s established and emerging artists.

“These Awards are about turning the spotlight on Queensland artists making world class music, while discovering new talent from all corners of the State,” Ms Foley said.

The event also saw the announcement of the Arts Queensland’s $10,000 Billy Thorpe Scholarship which this year went to newcomers Astrid and The Asteroids.

The night ended with Ball Park Music and Velociraptor tearing up the stage for a rapturous audience, again proving Queensland’s rock credentials.

All the winning songs are featured online at www.queenslandmusicawards.com.au.


Song of the Year
Do You Hear – Cub Scouts

Album of the Year
Ben Salter - The Cat

Pop Award
Do You Hear – Cub Scouts

Rock Award
Winter Was the Time – Jeremy Neale

Heavy Award
Dawn to Rise – A Breach of Silence

Blues and Roots Award
Golden- Band of Frequencies

Children’s Music Award
The Hopping Mouse – The Lamplights

Country Award
Precious Little – Harmony James

Folk/Singer Songwriter
Raisin Heart – Mosman Alder

Urban Award
The Valley – Rainman

Electronic/Dance Award
M&R– Bec Laughton and Bure Godwin

Jazz Award
Dresden – Marialy Pacheco

World Music Award
Panini Fandango – Lüke

School Award
You Could Be Happy – Sahara Beck

Indigenous Award
Red Roses – Sue Ray

Regional Award
Rainstorm – Jordan Brodie

The Courier-Mail Most Popular Male Award
Pete Murray

The Courier-Mail Most Popular Female Award
Kate Miller-Heidke

The Courier-Mail Most Popular Group Award
The Grates

The Grant McLennan Lifetime Achievement Award
Ed Kuepper

The Export Achievement Award
DZ Deathrays

The Billy Thorpe Scholarship
Astrid and the Asteroids

Published: 17 Aug 2012 by QMusic Newsdesk