Entries Extended For 2017 #QldMusicAwards

Queensland songwriters have today won for themselves a one-week extension to submit their songs into the 2017 Queensland Music Awards. The new deadline for submission is midnight Sunday Dec 11.

Having long been a platform for artists to catapult their careers forward onto the national stage, the 2017 awards have enjoyed a flood of published and unpublished submissions from musicians across the state.

And with the recent announcement of judges, including several international representatives, there’s never been a better opportunity for artists to get their music heard.


Joining the 60+ strong judging panel are Craig May from Red Bull Records (UK) and Patrick Walch from Nuclear Blast GmbH (Germany), who will sit alongside David Dickenson, founder of Seattle’s indie label Suicide Squeeze Records (Minus the Bear, Modest Mouse and The Black Keys), Beatport’s Head of International, Jack Bridges; Singapore’s LUSH 99.5FM Program Director, Vanessa Fernandez and Tom Osborn from New West Records (home to Steve Earle, Nikki Lane and a host of indie rock, alternative and Americana bands). Rounding out the international list are representatives from Polydor Records/Universal Music (UK), Planetary (USA) and Aftenposten (Norway).

Media, managers, A&R representatives, label directors, publishers and publicists from around Australia take part in the judging process including representatives from BIGSOUND, Chugg Entertainment, Dew Process, I OH YOU, triple j, Double J, UNIFIED, 4ZZZ, The Music, Elefant Traks, Secret Service and many more among the list.   A full list is available on the QMA website.

The awards ceremony itself will take place at Brisbane Powerhouse on Monday 27 March 2017.

The 2017 categories are Music Video, Pop, Rock, Blues/Roots, Country, Urban, Folk/Singer Songwriter, World, Jazz, Electronic/Dance, Heavy and Schools (grade 6 – 12).

For more details and entry information, visit

Check out some of our featured submissions through our Facebook Page

Entries for both the Queensland Music Awards and the Billy Thorpe Scholarship now close midnight Sunday 11 December 2016.

The 2017 Queensland Music Awards presented by BOQ and Hutchinson Builders is produced by QMusic with support from APRA AMCOS.

Published: 02 Dec 2016 by QMusic Newsdesk