The Queensland Music Awards were previously known as Q Song – a Queensland song writing awards that was initiated in 2006 as part of the reinvigoration of Q Music. It was felt that Q Music had a role to play in promoting and profiling song writers in Queensland. The Q Song model was based on the WAMI's (Western Australian Music Industry Awards) that had operated successfully for nearly 10 years.

Q Song with permission borrowed heavily on the WAM structure and was able to proceed with the key support of the Courier Mail via the People's Choice Award. In 2006 Nova was the key radio partner but this was successfully transitioned to 612 ABC Brisbane and ABC local radio Queensland in 2007 which provided an excellent platform to both encourage applications and reward excellence from regional Queensland.

The Awards night has continued to gain momentum over the five year period and is fast becoming a night for the Queensland music industry to gather and celebrate. Previous performers for the special night have included Kev Carmody, Yves Klein Blue, Hungry Kids of Hungary, The Boat People, The John Steel Singers, Halfway, Gin Club, Emma Louise and many more.

Previous Q Song winners have included Hungry Kids of Hungary, Yves Klein Blue, Busby Marou, My Fiction, The John Steel Singers, Dan Parsons, Kate Miller Hiedke, Impossible Odds + many more.

Visit the Q Song website for 2006 here.
Visit the Q Song website for 2007 here.
Visit the Q Song website for 2008 here.
Visit the Q Song website for 2009 here.
Visit the Q Song website for 2010 here.

The new identity as the Queensland Music Awards is intended to commend more than just songwriting and not limit songs to those that are unpublished.