The judging process for the Queensland Music Awards is a two tiered process.

Music industry professionals comprising of media, managers, A & R representatives, label directors and publishers from around Australia take part in the judging process.

All songs are listened to anonymously – that is each song is allocated a QMA number and judges don’t know who the artist is.

The songs are first shortlisted down to ten songs per category by one group of judges.

A second group of judges then listens to the final ten songs and selects the top four songs which become the finalists and one winner is then selected from the final four songs.

QMusic makes every effort to ensure the judging process is as fair as possible and more than 70 judges take part in the process.

2013 Judges

Matt Coyte - Rolling Stone Magazine Australia

James Morrison - Artist

Katalyst - Recording Artist

John Mullen – Dew Process

Rhoda Roberts - Sydney Opera House / Boomerang Festival

Bill Cullen – One Louder Entertainment (Paul Kelly, Sarah Blasko, Kate Miller-Heidke)

Mel Lake – Bird Music (Sally Seltmann, The Middle East)

Jordan Verzar – Top Shelf

Adam Cantley - www.musicvideotheory.com

Matt Rogers - Staple Group

Catherine Britt - Recording Artist

Chloe Goodyear – Woodford Folk Festival

Glenn Dickie – Sounds Australia / Aussie BBQ

Peter Jesperson – New West Records (USA)

Lars Ingwerson - Peermusic (GER)

Noel Mengel – Courier-Mail

Iain Shedden – The Australian

Shannon Kennedy / Ozi Batla – The Herd

Darryl Bailey – EMI

Tyson Koh – rage (ABC TV)

Lars Brandle – Billboard

Steve Bell - Time Off Editor

Dan Condon – themusic.com.au / Time Off

Gareth Bryant – Scene Magazine

Eric Chapus - Endorphin

Chris Cobcroft - 4ZZZ Co-Music Director

Michelle Brown - 4ZZZ Station Manager

Nick O’Byrne – AIR

Cheryl Symes – Capital News

Chris O'Neill - APRA

Andrew Tuttle - APRA

Jesse Kuch - Cairns Post

Jeff Walden - Australian Insititute of Country Music

and many, many more…