Highlights from the 2009 Q Song Awards

Q Song Awards 2009: Winners Announced

The 4th annual 2009 Q Song Awards hit the Tivoli in Fortitude Valley Tuesday August 11, crowning the next generation of Queensland songwriters, with a total of 22 Awards were presented. Read More>> Q Music Congratulates 2009 Q Song Award Winners

The 2009 Q Song Winners are:

Allans Music Primary School Award - Romany Elmas

Song Title: Country Outback Girl
Writers: Romany Elmas
Website: www.myspace.com/romanysinger

Secondary School Award - Andrew Redford

Song Title: City
Writers: Andrew Redford
Website: www.myspace.com/andrewredford

Gospel/Spiritual Award- Bec Shuker

Song Title: Holy Love
Writers: Bec Laughton
Website: www.beclaughton.com

Indigenous Award - Max Judo

Song Title: Whats Going On
Writers: Lucas Proudfoot
Website: www.maxjudo.com

Regional Award - Zennith

Song Title: Kuranda Reggae
Writers: Aden Brim

Country Award - 8 Ball Aitken

Song Title: Outback Booty Call
Writers: 8 Ball Aitken
Website: www.8ballaitken.com

New Music / Experimental - The Rational Academy

Song Title: 2004
Writers: Benjamin Thompson
Website: www.myspace.com/therationalacademy

Jazz Award - Hannah Macklin

Song Title: The Walls
Writers: Hannah Macklin, Steve Newcomb
Website: www.myspace.com/hannahmacklin

Hip-Hop/R & B Award - Laneous & the Family-Yah

Song Title: BubbleGum
Writers: Laneous (L. Mitchell)
Website: www.myspace.com/lachlaneous

Blues & Roots - Claire Whiting

Song Title: Heavy Stuff
Writers: Claire Whiting
Website: www.myspace.com/clairewhitingmusicc

Folk Ballad - Timothy Carroll

Song Title: Danshyttan
Writers: Timothy Carroll
Website: www.myspace.com/timothycarrollband

World Music - View From Madeleine's couch

Song Title: Bom Fazer
Writers: Anje West, Owen Newcomb
Website: www.myspace.com/madeleinescouch

Pop Music - The John Steel Singers

Song Title: Rainbow Kraut
Writers: Tim Morrissey, Scott Bromiley, Peter Bernoth
Website: www.myspace.com/thejohnsteelsingers

Punk - Yeow Meow

Song Title: Boredoms
Writers: Benjamin Thompson
Website: www.myspace.com/yeowmeow

Alternative - Hungry Kids of Hungary

Song Title: Set It Right
Writers: Dean McGrath, Kane Mazlin, Ryan Strathie, Ben Dalton
Website: www.myspace.com/hungrykidsofhungary

Rock - 26

Song Title: Bring On the Colour Guard
Writers: Nick O'Donnell, Drew Fellows, Ross Duckworth, Iain Wilson
Website: www.26theband.com

Billy Thorpe Scholarship - Alan Boyle

Song Title: THIS TOWN
Writers: Alan Boyle
Website: www.myspace.com/alanboyle

Q Music Encouragement Award - Ange Takats

Song Title: Tip Toes
Writers: Ange Takats
Website: www.myspace.com/angetakats

The Courier-Mail People's Choice Award - Mexico City

Song Title: Baby You've Changed
Writers: Ben Carstens, Simon Radich, Matt Tanner, Adam Toole
Website: www.myspace.com/mexicocitytheband

The Grant McLennan Lifetime Achievement Award - Bee Gees

The Bee Gees accepted via video the 2009 Grant McLennan Lifetime Achievement Award presented by Sally McLennan. The award was presented to the Bee Gees in recognition of their considerable contribution through their music and the inspiration that resonates Queensland songwriters.

Published Song of the Year - Troy Cassar-Daley

Song Title: Big Big Love
Writers: Troy Cassar-Daley
Website: www.myspace.com.au/cassardaley

Song of the Year - Timothy Carroll

Song Title: Danshyttan
Writers: Timothy Carroll
Website: www.myspace.com/timothycarrollband