Q Music Congratulates 2009 Q Song Award Winners

The 4th annual 2009 Q Song Awards hit the Tivoli in Fortitude Valley tonight crowning the next generation of Queensland songwriters. Indigenous roots act from Far North Queensland, Zennith, opened the night to a rapturous audience and later took out the 2009 Regional Award.

Zennith feature tonight on the SBS television Network, as an act performing at Cairns Indigenous Art Fair 2009 (

The Bee Gees accepted via video the 2009 Grant McLennan Lifetime Achievement Award presented by Sally McLennan whilst newcomer Alan Boyle accepted the Billy Thorpe Scholarship from Lynne Thorpe and daughters Rusty and Lauren.

A total of 22 Awards were presented.

But the night belonged to up and coming Brisbane songwriter Timothy Carroll who took out both the Folk/Ballad and Song of the Year Awards.

The Hungry Kids of Hungary and The Boat People finished the night with a medley of tunes from the Bee Gees, honoring their lifetime contribution to songwriting.

The 2009 Q Song Winners are:

Primary School: Romany Elmas – Country Outback Girl – Tolga
Secondary School: Andrew Redford – City – Maroochydoore
Gospel/Spiritual: Bec Shuker – Holy Love – Meadowbrook
Indigenous: Lucas Proudfoot – What’s Going On – Tallai
Regional: Aden Brim – Kuranda Reggae – Kuranda
Country: 8 Ball Aitken – Outback Booty Call – Brisbane
New Music/Experimental: Benjamin Thompson – 2004 – Brisbane
Jazz: Hanah Macklin and Steve Newcomb – Walls – Brisbane
Hip Hop/R & B: Mr Laneous – Bubblegum – Brisbane
Blues and Roots: Claire Whiting – Heavy Stuff – Brisbane
Folk/Ballad: Timothy Carroll – Danshyttan – Brisbane
World Music: Anje West and Owen Newcomb - Bom Fazer – Brisbane
Pop: Tim Morrissey, Scott Bromiley, Peter Bernoth (The John Steel Singers) – Rainbow Kraut – Brisbane
Punk: Benjamin Thompson – Boredoms – Brisbane
Alternative: Dean McGrath, Kane Mazlin, Ryan Strathie, Ben Dalton (Hungry Kids of Hungary)- Set it Right – Brisbane
Rock: Nick O'Donnell, Drew Fellows, Ross Duckworth, Iain Wilson (26) – Bring on the Colour Guard – Brisbane/Maleny
Billy Thorpe Scholarship: Alan Boyle – Brisbane
Q Music Encouragement Award – Ange Takats – Tip Toes – Peregian Beach
The Courier-Mail People’s Choice Award – Mexico City – Baby You’ve Changed – Brisbane
The Grant McLennan Lifetime Achievement – The Bee Gees
Published Song of the Year – Troy Casser – Daley - Big Big Love
Song of the Year – Timothy Carroll – Danshyttan – Brisbane

Keep up to date with next year's awards at

Published: 01 Sep 2009 by QMusic Newsdesk