LoginSign Up

Queensland Music Shone at 2021 Awards Ceremony

Queensland music history was made under the decadent chandeliers of the Fortitude Music Hall as some 700 musicians, industry and local music lovers gathered at the sold-out Queensland Music Awards for a well-deserved celebration of the state’s best new music over the last 12 months. 

Hosted by The Creases' Aimon Clark and The Grates' Patience Hodgson, 30 awards were presented, with Miiesha amongst the night’s big winners taking home three awards for ‘Twisting Words’ in the Indigenous, Soul / Funk / RnB, and Remote categories. 

More historic moments came when Jesswar’s explosive war-cry track ‘Venom’ took out the Hip Hop / Rap crown, marking her as the first female artist to win this category since its introduction 4 years ago; and Gold Coast soul-folk-pop newcomer Beckah Amani who won an impressive two awards, the coveted Billy Thorpe Scholarship and Emerging Artist of the Year, handpicked by triple j unearthed.

Taking out the top honours were Ball Park Music who won Album Of The Year with their critically-acclaimed self-titled album and Sycco, who won both Song Of The Year and the Pop category award for her release ‘Dribble’. Both artists celebrated their wins with show-stopping, memorable performances, along with Redland Bay rockers Beddy Rays, Hip Hop / Rap finalists No Money Enterprise, and QMAs veterans, and World finalists MZAZA.

The incredible commercial and international success of Queensland music was also on show during the night with Amy Shark winning the Highest Selling Single award for the second year in a row with her single ‘Everybody Rise’, Keith Urban taking out the Highest Selling Album award for ‘The Speed Of Now Pt1’ and Sheppard winning the Export Achievement award.

Taking a moment in the ceremony to recognise her lifetime contribution to Queensland music, Lynette Irwin was awarded the Grant McLennan Lifetime Achievement Award for her prolific and ongoing support of the jazz community over the past 20+ years. Trichotomy ft. Zac Hurren performed a piece on the night written for Lynette.

Winning the Folk / Singer-Songwriter award for the second year in a row was Brisbane music and visual artist Jaguar Jonze with her conceptual masterpiece ‘MURDER’. Other winners included These Four Walls, who won the Heavy category with ‘White Lies’, Young Franco was the winner for the Electronic / Dance category with ‘Juice (feat Pell)’, Melody Moko was the winner in the Country category with ‘Like Hank Would’, and last year’s Emerging Artist Hope D this year was the winner of the Rock category for her breakthrough Hottest 100-placing hit ‘Second’.

And rounding out a momentous night of celebration and recognition for Queensland music are the winners of the People’s Choice Awards, where the state’s favourite music venues and festivals were voted by the public and judged by an industry panel. Taking home the award for Metro Venue of The Year was Brisbane’s esteemed theatre-venue The Tivoli, the Regional Venue Of The Year award went to Sunshine Coast mainstay Nightquarter, and Festival Of The Year was crowned to long-standing and beloved music and cultural event Woodford Folk Festival.


2021 Partners

Latest News