LoginSign Up

Americana Music Prize


Revered Australian roots and country musician Shane Nicholson has announced the new Americana Music Prize of Australia initiative with a prize pack of $10,000 to support aspiring Americana/alt-country artists in Australia!

The joint project was launched earlier today by Shane Nicholson/The Sound Hole, Forbes Street Studios and Lost Highway Australia. The prize is an annual grant to help “support, encourage, mentor and resource” unsigned artists within the genre Nicholson has become renowned for.

A panel of industry professionals will judge entrants for the chance to win a $10,000 prize pack with the opportunity to record and produce an EP at Forbes Street Studios along with professional photoshoots, management consultation, artwork design and so much more!

Nicholson’s hand-picked judging panel includes:

  • Rod Yates (Editor, Rolling Stone) 
  • Brian Taranto (Love Police) 
  • Bernard Zuel (Journalist) 
  • Chris Familton (Post To Wire) 
  • Tim Daley (Country Music Channel) 
  • Michael Taylor (Lost Highway/Universal) 
  • Tracey Griffiths (Dashville Skyline) 
  • Graham Thompson (Artist Manager) 
  • Matt Fell (Record Producer) 
  • Alison Avron (The Newsagency) 
  • Jeremy Dylan (Filmmaker) 
  • Henry Wagons (Artist) 
  • Brian Wise (Rhythms magazine founder and music writer) 
  • Jane Gazzo (Triple M) 
  • Denise Hylands (RRR-Twang)

Entries close 5pm on Friday 2 March – for more info head here.

Apply Now