LoginSign Up

APRA Professional
Development Awards

APRA AMCOS have announced the return of the biennial APRA Professional Development Awards, a career boosting initiative which has helped further the musical success stories of Gotye, Fanny Lumsden, screen composer Caitlin Yeo, Morgan Evans, Ainslie Wills, Nick Drabble, Ngaiire, Briggs and many more.

Held every two years, the APRA Professional Development Awards aim to create serious opportunities for emerging songwriters and composers. In 2019, the awards prize pool continues to grow, offering nine individual winners $15,000 each to propel their career, plus Audio-Technica M50x Studio Headphones Limited Edition Red and an ‘Aon Wallet’ insurance package including Public Liability, Equipment and Personal Accident cover valued at $3,000 over 3 years.

Applications are now open to emerging songwriters and composers across the following categories:

  • Popular Contemporary (three awards are given in this category which covers pop, rock, blues, folk, hip hop and R&B)
  • Country
  • Jazz
  • Art Music
  • Dance/Electronic
  • Film and Television
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander

The APRA Professional Development Awards judging panel for 2019 includes Katie Wighton & Georgia Mooney (All Our Exes Live in Texas), Jenny Morris, Lior, Brooke McClymont, Dom Alessio (Sounds Australia), Jeremy Rose, Iain Grandage, Cat Hope, Caitlin Yeo, Jay Stewart, Leah Flanagan, Coco Eke (Bad Apples), Dan Zilber (Future Classic), and many more.

Applications for the Professional Development Awards close on Thursday 27 June, 2019.

For more information and to apply, click below.

Apply Now


Latest News