LoginSign Up

2019 APRA Professional Development Awards Winners Announced

An impressive next wave of Australian songwriters and composers were announced as winners in the 2019 APRA Professional Development Awards (PDAs).

Held every two years, the APRA PDAs exist to support emerging songwriters and composers across a variety of genres and categories by providing a cash award and recognition at a pivotal stage in their respective career.

The winners for the 2019 APRA PDAs:

Angie McMahon – Popular Contemporary
Ecca Vandal – Popular Contemporary
Mojo Juju – Popular Contemporary
Deline Briscoe – Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander
Amanda Cole – Art Music
Imogen Clark - Country
Beatrice Lewis – Dance/Electronic
Pru Montin – Film and Television
Niran Dasika - Jazz

The calibre of the recipients of the Professional Development Awards signals the strength of Australian music. Acknowledging and investing in our homegrown talent is crucial to their next career steps, and we look forward to seeing and hearing what the future holds for all of them.

Dean Ormston
APRA AMCOS Chief Executive

Actor, songwriter and award-winning opera singer, Jess Hitchcock, has been named the recipient of the Indigenous Music and Media Award from the Smugglers of Light, a foundation set up in memory of 21-year-old Eli Westlake, who was tragically killed in 2008. Hitchcock receives a grant of $12,000 which was presented today by Australian composer and conductor Nigel Westlake.

A panel of judges comprising Lior, Jenny Morris, Jonathan Zwartz, Brooke McClymont, Cat Hope, Dan Zilber, Leah Flanagan, Tania Doko, Francois Tetaz and more have determined the impressive winners from a pool of over 900 applicants.

Previous winners include Gotye, Ainslie Wills, Julia Jacklin, Timothy Carroll, Ruby Boots, Briggs, VASSY, Jeremy Rose and screen composer Caitlin Yeo.

Stream music from the winners at Apple Music and Spotify.

Latest News