LoginSign Up

Carol Lloyd Award
Finalists Announced

Five incredible finalists have been announced for the 2019 Carol Lloyd Award.

Sahara Beck, Ella Fence, Angharad Drake, Andrea Kirwin and Asha Jefferies are all in the running for the prestigious award, presented by the Queensland Music Festival and championed by internationally renowned singer-songwriter and Artistic Director, Katie Noonan.

With support from Arts Queensland, APRA AMCOS and Hutchinson Builders, the Carol Lloyd Award is presented to an upcoming female identifying singer-songwriter, who resides in Queensland.

This year the talent has been of an excellent calibre, with 55 entries submitted from emerging Queensland female artists.

The award includes a $15,000 grant to help support upcoming singer-songwriters to showcase and develop their work. The grant enables them to acquire suitable resources to help with touring, music production, promotion, publicity and marketing so that they can present their project to the Australian music industry and help broaden and grow their existing fan bases.

The Carol Lloyd Award is now in its third year and has had a significant impact on previous winners Leanne Tennant in 2018 and Georgia Potter (Moreton) in 2017.

The 2019 Carol Lloyd Award judging panel featured industry veterans Katie Noonan, Joc Curran, Leanne de Souza, Sean Sennett, John Willsteed and Annie Peterson.


“It has been such a privilege to be part of this judging panel for the past three years. The immense talent of our applicants is extraordinary. There must be something in the water, as Queensland keeps producing such a diverse range of female singer songwriters with so many unique voices, all with something very important to say.”

Joc Curran
Judge, Carol Lloyd Award

“Once again the judges and I were thrilled with the quality of the submissions for our third annual $15K Carol Lloyd Award prize. Like the previous two winners Moreton and Leanne Tennant, it was a unanimous decision and we are excited to see how this prize will help this extraordinary artist’s career continue to bloom. 

"Carol’s legacy lives on loud and proud, and we are proud to watch these brilliant QLD women’s careers soar in Australia and around the world.” said Katie Noonan.

The winner of the 2019 Carol Lloyd Award will be announced on May 20, 2019.

Find Out More


Latest News