LoginSign Up

National Live Music Awards

The NLMA are gearing up for a huge night at the Brisbane Gala with inaugural Live Legend inductees Magic Dirt, announced to be closing the Brisbane Gala of the NLMAs on 6th December 2018.

Accompanying the band with live performances at the Brisbane gala will be rising stars themselves (and one of the most talked about acts at BIGSOUND) Pink Matter, alongside 2018 nominees BUGS, Timothy James Bowen and Alice Ivy. Just announced are Gold Coast based nominees Electrik Lemonade, while Jeremy Neale, Katie Noonan, Jaguar Jonze and more will be amongst the award presenters on the night.

Nominees for the third annual National Live Music Awards (NLMAS) have been unveiled, with WAAX and Amy Shark leading the QLD contingent.

This year's industry gala night will be held for the first time in Queensland at The Triffid, Brisbane on 6 December, with simultaneous satellite events happening around the country in every state and territory.

Tickets for the 2018 NLMAs are available now, with $5 from every ticket going to Support Act.

Buy Tickets

“We’re honoured to be able to pay tribute to Magic Dirt at the NLMAs. A band who so many rising stars look up to, and a group who remain as important and influential now as they were at the peak of their career.”

Larry Heath
NLMAs Director

QLD Nominees


Among the national category nominees are some exceptional local acts, with Brisbane rockers WAAX nominated for Live Act of the Year as well as Best New Act of the Year. Gold Coast superstar Amy Shark is also up for two national awards, nominated for Live Pop Artist of the Year and International Live Achievement: Solo Artist in recognition of her massive overseas success.

Other Queenslanders among the national nominees include Confidence Man (Live Pop Artist of the Year) and QMA 2018 winners The Kite String Tangle (Live DJ/Electronic Artist of the Year) and Brad Butcher (Live Country Artist of the Year). In addition to the slew of local artists up for nation-wide awards, our very own BIGSOUND has been nominated for Festival of the Year for the second year running.


In the state categories, WAAX and Amy Shark are also nominated for Live Act of the Year alongside Confidence Man, BUGS and Hollow Coves. Live Voice of the Year nominations have gone to Shark, Bernard Fanning, Connor Brooker (BUGS), Kate Miller-Heidke and Monica Sottile (Sweater Curse).

Venues Black Bear Lodge, SolBar, The Junk Bar, The Triffid and The Zoo have made the shortlist for Live Venue of the Year, along with BIGSOUND, Big Pineapple Festival, Maroochy Music and Vis Arts Festival, Women in Voice and Woodford Folk Festival vying for Live Event of the Year.

QLD Awards – Presented by 4ZZZ

Live Act of the Year
Amy Shark
Confidence Man
Hollow Coves

Live Voice of the Year – Presented by Queensland Music Festival
Amy Shark
Bernard Fanning
Connor Brooker (BUGS)
Kate Miller-Heidke
Monica Sottile (Sweater Curse)

Live Venue of the Year – Presented by Oztix
Black Bear Lodge
The Junk Bar
The Triffid
The Zoo

Live Event of the Year
Big Pineapple Festival
Maroochy Music and Vis Arts Festival
Women in Voice
Woodford Folk Festival

AAA – All Ages Achievement

View Full List


Latest News