LoginSign Up

Shortlisted: Vanda & Young


Five Queensland artists have made the shortlist for the coveted Vanda & Young Songwriting Competition. Amy Shark, Asha Jefferies, Hatchie, Mallrat and Tia Gostelow are all in the running for the illustrious prize, with four top winners to be announced in May.

At stake is a first-place cash prize of A$50,000, courtesy of APRA AMCOS, Alberts and BMG, as well as an additional A$5,000 Show Group travel package.

Two runners-up cash prizes are also on offer with second place receiving A$10,000 thanks to AMPAL (Australasian Music Publishers Association) and third place taking home A$5,000 courtesy of media sponsor, Seventh Street Media.

An exciting addition to the prize slate this year is A$5,000 for the best ‘Unpublished’ work.

Named for legendary Australian songwriting duo Harry Vanda and George Young, the competition is now in it’s 9th year. The competition donates a portion of artist entry fees to Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy Australia, with the total contribution hitting the $1million mark this year.

The judging panel is made up of artists such as Daniel Johns, KLP and Montaigne, plus representatives from The Music Network, Universal Music, Pollstar, Billboard and triple j Unearthed.

Past winners have included Gretta Ray (2016), Megan Washington (2009), Kimbra (2011), The Preatures (2013) and Husky Gawenda (2014).

View Full Shortlist